.

According to the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), there were 65 million uprooted people in the world by 2015. Among them, 16 million refugees or people displaced for war exploits, 50% of whom are under the age of 18 and 50 % who come from three countries: Syria, Afghanistan, Somalia.


An eclectic audience

The association proposes two types of projection according to the season, but also the themes of the films programmed: there are open-air projections (all public) as well as indoor screenings with a targeted audience (women or children). This way, the films of the association are addressed to all, for a multi-confessional public of Iraqi or Syrian nationalities. The projected films are dubbed or subtitled in Arabic.

In 2016, nearly 12,000 spectators, mostly children, sat down in front of the screen during the 137 screenings organized by the association. Since early 2017, there has already been 101 screens for more than 9,000 spectators.

For a diversified cinema program

Screened films are family films, mostly comedies and cartoons, action films, in total in 2016, 38 different movies and many short films. Some films are chosen in consultation with local NGOs to target audiences in the afternoon, especially for women. The final of the Champions League 2016 and the football Euro 2016 were also projected, as well as cultural events such as the diffusion of the film Henri V on behalf of the British Council, on the occasion of the celebrating of the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare's death. A strong collaboration with the French Institut in Erbil has allowed the association to program cinematographic events such as the "Fête du court-métrage", the Animation Film Festival and the "Fête du Cinéma" in 2016.

Since the association has existed, the public has walked in the footsteps of Aladdin, laughed at Charlie Chaplin and Mister Bean's jokes while becoming the classmates of Wadjda. The biggest of them enjoyed the confidences of the beauty salon of Caramel and will accompany the women of the bus 678 during our next sessions.

Besides, it will be important in the coming months to broadcast documentaries about the history of the Mesopotamian region. The programmed documentaries will focus on architecture, music, dance, traditional arts and contemporary creation.

.

Selon le Haut Commissariat aux Réfugiés des Nations-Unies (UNHCR), il y a eu 65 millions de personnes déracinées dans le monde en 2015. Parmi elles, 16 millions de réfugiés ou déplacés pour faits de guerre dont 50% ont moins de 18 ans et dont 50% viennent de trois pays : Syrie, Afghanistan, Somalie. 


Un public éclectique

L'association propose deux types de projection en fonction de la saison, mais également des thèmes des films programmés : il y a des projections plein-air (tous publics) ainsi que des projections "indoor" pour un public ciblé (femmes ou enfants). De cette façon, les films de l'association s'adressent à tous, pour un public multiconfessionnel de nationalité irakienne ou syrienne. Les films projetés sont doublés ou sous-titrés en langue arabe classique

En 2016, près de 12 000 spectateurs, dont en majorité des enfants, se sont installés face à l'écran lors des 137 séances organisées par l'association. Depuis début 2017 il y a eu déjà 101 projections devant plus de 9 000 spectateurs.

Pour une programmation diversifiée

Les films projetés sont des films familiaux, surtout des comédies et des dessins animés, des films d'actions, au total, en 2016, 38 films différents et de nombreux courts-métrages. Certains films sont choisis en concertation avec des ONG sur place pour cibler les publics, l'après-midi, notamment pour les femmes. Il a été aussi projeté la finale de la Ligue des Champions 2016 et l'Euro de football 2016 et des évènements culturels comme la diffusion du film "Henri V" pour le compte du "British Council" à l'occasion de la célébration du 400° anniversaire de la mort de Shakespeare. Une forte collaboration avec l'Institut Français d'Erbil a permis à l'association de programmer des événements cinématographiques comme la Fête du court-métrage, le Festival du cinéma d'animation et la Fête du Cinéma. 

Depuis que l'association existe, le public a marché sur les traces d'Aladdin, a ri des farces de Charlie Chaplin et de Mister Bean tout en devenant, par instant, les camarades de classe de Wadjda. Les plus grands d'entre eux ont savourés les confidences du salon de beauté de Caramel et accompagneront les femmes du bus 678 lors de nos prochaines séances. 

Par ailleurs, nous nous attacherons dans les mois à venir à diffuser des documentaires sur l'histoire de la région, de ce qu'on appelait la Mésopotamie. Les documentaires programmés auront pour thème l'architecture, la musique, la danse, les arts traditionnels sans oublier la création contemporaine.