.

Projecting films is showing how to "be part" of the world again for this audience sitting in front of screen in the dust of the camps.


A movie screen in camps

A camp is an artificial humanitarian space, based on an urban model for a limited period of time following a natural disaster, a political crisis or a state of war. It is built by a government and/or NGOs to receive refugees or displaced persons who have left their homes for survival reasons. Most camps can accommodate up to several thousand people.

In Iraqi Kurdistan, the camps that have opened their doors to the association are not alike despite their humanitarian destination. They all have in common spaces, indoor spaces (tents or caravans) and outdoor spaces, where the film projections are organized.

Broadcasting images on a daily basis.

Images are a reflection of the events and encounters a man or woman can make in his or her life. They are also catalysts for particular political, economic and/or personal events. Images are also a means of entertainment to forget where we are, the time of a movie. A way to give a bit of laughter and dreams to a public that is confined, most often inactive, cut off from the rest of the world by wire fences and barbed wires. 

For projections, we have two Panasonic and Barco video projectors, a computer, a Blu-ray player, two sound systems with KCS loudspeakers, a 2 meter folding screen, an inflatable screen with a 10 meter base as well as a generator . The equipment is transported from camp to camp with a pickup truck.

.

Projeter des films, c'est montrer comment "faire partie" du monde, à nouveau, pour ce public assis face à l'écran dans la poussière des camps. 


Un écran de cinéma dans des camps

Un camp est un espace humanitaire artificiel, fondé sur un modèle urbain pour une durée limitée à la suite d'une catastrophe naturelle, d'une crise politique ou d'un état de guerre. Il est construit par un gouvernement et/ou des ONG pour recevoir des réfugiés ou des personnes déplacées qui ont quitté leurs maisons pour des raisons de survie. La plupart des camps peuvent accueillir jusqu'à plusieurs milliers de personnes. 

Au Kurdistan irakien, les camps qui ont ouvert leurs portes à l'association ne se ressemblent pas malgré leur vocation humanitaire. Ils ont cependant tous en commun des espaces, intérieurs (tentes ou caravanes) et extérieurs, où sont organisées les projections de films. 

Diffuser des images au quotidien

Les images sont le reflet des événements et des rencontres que chacun fait dans une vie. Elles sont aussi catalysatrices d'événements politiques, économiques et/ou personnels, particuliers. Les images sont aussi un moyen de divertissement pour oublier où nous sommes, le temps du film. Une façon de faire rentrer un peu de rire et de rêve dans les yeux d'un public qui est confiné, inactif le plus souvent, coupé du reste du monde et de son environnement proche par des grillages et des barbelés.

Pour assurer les projections, nous disposons de deux vidéoprojecteurs Panasonic et Barco, d'un ordinateur, d'un lecteur Blu-ray, de deux chaînes son avec des enceintes KCS, d'un écran repliable de 2m de base, d'un écran gonflable de 10m de base ainsi que d'un groupe électrogène. Le matériel est transporté de camp en camp grâce à un pick-up.